09.11.2001–A Day to Remember

     September 11, 2001 is a day that will be remembered forever.  Most people remember exactly where they were, what they were doing, who they were with, and how they felt when they got the news.  I was in fifth grade at Irwin Avenue Elementary in Charlotte, North Carolina.  My teachers were crying when they got the news and took us to the forum to turn on the news.  We watched the second plane hit, and that’s when the teachers really lost it.

          As a ten-year old that didn’t know much about the world yet, I had no idea what the World Trade Center was.  The importance of this huge event has never really hit me.  When I think back to the attack, I just remember that day in class.  Charlotte is the second largest banking town in the country, coming in right after New York City, and because my school was located downtown, we were evacuated and moved across town.  I remember how much everyone was freaking out thinking that we were going to be attacked next and worrying about our safety.

          My mom came to pick me up once we got to the other school.  We went to my uncle’s house and listened to the radio on the back porch to find out more information about the attacks.  To this day, I will never fully grasp the seriousness of 9/11, nor will I ever be able to grasp the fact that we lost thousands of innocent citizens that day.  It’s unfortunate that so many young and uninformed kids will never understand, and I feel like I’m letting my country down.

 

Madison Chandley

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

