News – Breaking the News..

            News… There are so many different meanings for this word.  The first one that pops into my head is breaking the news.  When I was eighteen years old, I found out I was pregnant.  Of course there were a million things running through my head: what will I do, how will I tell my parents, how will I tell my boyfriend, will I be able to do this, etc.  At first, I wasn’t sure that I could handle the responsibilities of becoming a mom so young, but as I began to think about it more, there was nothing I wanted more, nothing better to get me on a better track in my life.  No matter what happened, I was going to have this baby and do everything I possibly could to make sure it had a great life.

            My boyfriend was scared too, of course, but once he got past that, he was excited.  We knew we would be great parents, and we knew we wanted to be together forever.  The baby came into our lives a lot earlier than we had planned, but we knew we could handle it.  Telling my mom wasn’t a problem at all, but when it came to telling Zach’s parents, we were terrified.  His stepdad is the most intimidating person I have ever met, but his mom is sweet as can be.  With this is mind, we decided to invite only his mom out to lunch.

She went on and on about rereading The Scarlet Letter having no idea that we had asked her to lunch for a reason.  Finally, when we were finishing up our meals, she said, “Now, did you guys invite me to lunch to tell me something?”  We both got quiet, and she immediately knew what we were going to say.  She whispered, “Madison’s pregnant?”  And Zach just nodded his head.  She was and always has been very supportive.  As we were wrapping up our lunch date, we got our fortune cookies, and she opened hers to read, “A small package will be arriving soon, bringing you lots of joy.”  She thought that was a sign and still carries it around with her.

News can mean a number of things, but this is what stands out in my mind the most when I think of news.

 

Madison Chandley

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

