How To Quit Drinking Soda

     One of the most beneficial things I have done for myself is to quit soda. I hated drinking water it was nasty and had no flavor, but I learned a cool way to love water. After I quit drinking soda and started drinking water I noticed that I had more energy, and I wasn’t spending my money on expensive drinks.

     Americans drink an average of 20oz of soda a day, depending if you got it at the grocery store, convenient store, or restaurant the average price is around $1.40 for 20oz. Which means every person in your household that drinks pop cost you $511.00 dollars a year. (this is a good incentive to stop) Another good incentive is how much better you will fell drinking water. Soda is acidic which weakens your enamel and the sugar can then cause cavities. An drinking soda you are consuming an extra 87,600 calories a year. You can also get asthma, kidney disease, heart disease, and osteoporosis.

So here is my 3 step program to stop drinking soda.

1. I took carbonation out of the equation. I started drinking Juices and Sweet Tea. (which are also bad for you, just not as bad as pop.) Do this until you no longer feel the need for a fizzy drink then go to step 2.

2. I started being a Cheapskate at restaurants and ordered water and added free sugar and lemon. This is      a good way to get used to drinks that are not as sweet as juice or tea.

3. I kept reducing the amount of sugar until it was only water I was drinking.

     Now all I like to drink is water if I have a soda it just leaves me thirsty, unlike water. And it helps to have a water filter like Brita to keep dangerous things out of your tap water, if you drink bottled water you will not save much, if any. So I suggest a filter. Good Luck I hope this helps all of you and be sure to comment about your successes or questions about quitting.

 

     ~Austin Reed

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Quit Drinking Soda

  1. etsucomp1010 says:

    I like your three step program– I’m reading your blog as I am drinking sweet tea from Pals!!!

Leave a Reply

